RAYNET Structure

RAYNET is organised hierarchically from a national body down to groups at the local level. The national body is The Radio Amateurs' Emergency Network which is a registered charity.

The country is divided into 13 Zones based on the original zones used by the UK government for Emergency Planning. Each zone has a Zonal Co-ordinator who is a director of the national group. Each Zone contains a number of Counties. Depending on the size of the county, there may be one group to cover the county or it may be split into smaller areas.

West Midlands County RAYNET is part of Zone 9. The groups in the West Midlands are Birmingham, Coventry, Sandwell, Solihull, South Birmingham, Sutton Coldfield, Walsall, West Midlands West and Wolverhampton.

Not all groups are affiliated to The Network. Some are affiliated to the RSGB, some to both and a few are independent. No matter what the affiliation, all groups work together to provide a national service for the UK. More details can be found on the group and national sites.